Fashion Trust Arabia (FTA), the charitable organisation supporting emerging talent in
the MENA region, is pleased to announce the first round of judges to join the FTA 2020
Awards ceremony Judging Panel.

A special reception was held at the Embassy of Qatar in Paris, on Sunday 19th January
2020, in honour of all FTA members, to mark the announcement of the Judging Panel.
The event was co-hosted by FTA Founder Tania Fares, Carine Roitfeld, Elie Saab and
Farida Khelfa and Mrs Eman Al Kuwari, wife of the Ambassador of Qatar to France.

FTA Winner Selection – the Jury’s role

The Judging Panel is responsible for the selection of 5 designer winners from 5
womenswear categories: Eveningwear, Ready-to-Wear, Accessories (Shoes/Bags),
and Jewellery (Fine & Fashion Jewellery). This year the Awards also include the new
Franca Sozzani Debut Talent Award (Arab Fashion Design Graduates 2018-2019),
which focuses on recent graduates with outstanding design talent and potential to
kick start their business.

The recently introduced FTA Advisory Board will create a shortlist of 25 finalists from all
applications for the 2020 Awards. Advisory board members for this year’s prize include
Sarah Andelman, Tim Blanks, Carmen Busquets, Jefferson Hack, Natalie Kingham,
Gianluca Longo, Sara Sozzani Maino, Sofia Guellaty, Julie Gilhart, Sarah Mower and
Fabio Piras.

The 25 finalists will showcase their collections in Doha, Qatar on 25th March 2020 to
FTA’s Judging Panel, who will then select the 5 winning designers from the shortlisted
finalists. The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony that same evening,
under the patronage and presence of HH Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, at the newly
opened National Museum of Qatar, designed by renowned architect, Jean Nouvel.

The 2020 Judging Panel – first round announcement

FTA is pleased to announce the following list of judges at the FTA 2020 Award
Ceremony. This prestigious committee continues the legacy of the 2019 judging panel
which included Victoria Beckham, Natalie Massenet, Alexander Wang, Diane Von
Furstenberg, Antoine Arnault and Remo Ruffini to name a few.

The 2020 Judges are:
• Adrian Cheng, Executive Vice-Chairman & GM of New World Development
• Aimee Song, Influencer and Best-Selling Author
• Alber Elbaz, Fashion Designer
• Carine Roitfeld, Editor-in-Chief and Fashion Director
• Christian Louboutin, Shoe Designer
• Daniel Arsham, Artist
• Elie Saab, Fashion Designer
• Elizabeth Saltzman, Celebrity Stylist
• Farida Khelfa, Model
• Gaia Repossi, Jewellery Designer
• Laura Brown, InStyle US Editor-in-Chief
• Marc Jacobs, Fashion Designer
• Mario Sorrenti, Photographer
• Michele Lamy, Entrepreneur & Business Partner Rick Owens
• Naomi Campbell, Model
• Olivier Rousteing, Creative Director, Balmain
• Pierpaolo Piccioli, Creative Director, Valentino
• Thom Browne, Fashion Designer
• Tory Burch, Fashion Designer
• Yoon Ambush, Fashion Designer & Dior Homme Director of Jewellery
• Giancarlo Giammetti, Founder & Honorary President of Valentino

For further information and enquiries please contact:

Jeanne Terrier, Lucien Pagès
T.+33 (0)1 42 77 33 05


Fashion Trust Arabia (FTA) is a unique philanthropic initiative focused on scouting,
funding and nurturing design talent across the MENA (Middle East and North Africa)
region, while bringing global awareness to its burgeoning fashion industry.
Born out of the success of the Fashion Trust UK, Founder Tania Fares established the
Fashion Trust Arabia in Summer 2018 alongside co-chair HE Sheikha Al Mayassa bint
Hamad bin Khalifa Al-Thani, and under the patronage of Honorary Chair HH Sheikha
Moza bint Nasser.
The first initiative of its kind in the region, the FTA provides catalyst opportunities in the
form of financial awards and strategic world class industry mentorship for MENA region
design talent who are ready for the international market.
Each year at the FTA Awards Ceremony, 5 winning designers will receive a financial
grant of up to $200,000, a one-year mentorship program from the London-based
global luxury retailer, as well as specialised guidance on
sustainability from Maison de Mode. will also stock the FTA
winners’ collections, providing a crucial platform for the entire world to discover these
winning designers.
The winners of the first FTA Awards ceremony, which took place in March 2019 in Doha,
include Salim Azzam (Ready-to-Wear), Roni Helou (Ready-to-Wear), Mukhi Sisters
(Jewellery), Krikor Jabotian (Eveningwear), Zyne (Shoes), and Sabry Marouf (Bags).

A to zee fashion

Torna in alto